Mobile menu icon
Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Mobile menu icon Search iconSearch
Search type

Department of Chemistry

Contact us

Get in touch with the Department of Chemistry by telephone, email or in person.

Locations and maps

The Department of Chemistry is based in the subject-dedicated Chemistry Building, which is located on the University’s South Campus.

Address

Department of Chemistry
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9PL

Key contacts

Undergraduate admissions office

The undergraduate admissions team provides advice and support to students applying for one of our courses. We look forward to hearing from you.

Tel: +44 (0) 161 306 0888

Email: ug.chemistry@manchester.ac.uk

Postgraduate admissions team

The Postgraduate Admissions Team provides advice and support to prospective postgraduate students applying for one of our courses - get in touch with any enquiries:

Taught master's enquiries (MSc Chemistry)

For admissions enquiries about postgraduate research programmes please contact the Doctoral Academy Admissions Team at:

Education team

The Education team provides advice and support to students on programmes of study within the Department - please get in touch with any queries.

Education Officer
Abigail Webb (abigail.webb@manchester.ac.uk)

Education Administrator
Postgraduate research support: fse.doctoralacademy.support@manchester.ac.uk

Education Administrator Assistant
Shan Lin (shan.lin@manchester.ac.uk)
Annalise Stockton (annalise.stockton@manchester.ac.uk)
Emma Turnbull (emma.turnbull@manchester.ac.uk)

For the Education Team tel: +44 (0) 161 529 4517

Facilities contacts

Mass spectrometry laboratory 

  • Katherine Hollywood - Senior Technical Specialist Mass Spectometry (katherine.hollywood@manchester.ac.uk)
  • Carole Webb - Senior Technician, Separations (carole.l.webb@manchester.ac.uk)
  • Emma Enston - Senior Technician, MS/Separations (emma.enston@manchester.ac.uk)
  • Gareth Smith - Senior Technician, Mass Spectrometry (gareth.d.smith@manchester.ac.uk)
  • Mohammed Maqsood - Technician, OMIC/Analytical Chemistry (mohammed.maqsood@manchester.ac.uk)

Microanalysis laboratory

Nuclear magnetic resonance laboratory

  • General enquiries should be emailed to ch-nmr-service@listserv.manchester.ac.uk. Users within The University of Manchester can visit the internal NMR website on the Department of Chemistry intranet and place NMR service requests via our online portal (vpn or on-site access only).
  • Carlo Bawn (runs the NMR service and should be contacted in the first instance for general solution-state and solid-state NMR queries, staff-run service matters, and advice on spectrum interpretation). Email: carlo.bawn@manchester.ac.uk, telephone: +44 (0)161 275 4581
  • Daryl Bamber (responsible for the day-to-day maintenance of the NMR equipment in the Department, and should be contacted for issues relating to walk-up instruments). Email: daryl.bamber@manchester.ac.uk, telephone: +44 (0)161 275 4581
  • Ralph Adams (Head of NMR in the Department of Chemistry and should be contacted for advice on more complex and extended projects, and more general NMR facility queries). Email: ralph.adams@manchester.ac.uk 

X-ray crystallography

Near-ambient pressure X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy

Industrial and business contacts

For business enquiries such as collaboration opportunities or training on our equipment, please use the contacts below.

Industrial liaison:

Address
Department of Chemistry
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9PL
United Kingdom

Contact
Chris Muryn
Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 1418
Email: c.muryn@manchester.ac.uk

Services to industry enquiries (including mass spectroscopy, microanalysis, NMR and X-Ray Crystallography):

Address
Services to Industry
Department of Chemistry
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9PL
United Kingdom

Contact
Chris Muryn
Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 1418
Email: c.muryn@manchester.ac.uk

Operations team

The Operations team provides a comprehensive support to all members of staff in the Department, including academic staff, research associates, technicians and postgraduate students – please get in touch with any queries.

Deputy School Operations Manager
Louise Wood-Sanna (louise.wood-sanna@manchester.ac.uk)

Operations Project Officer
Penny Bartlett-O'Boyle (penny.bartlett-o'boyle@manchester.ac.uk)

Personal Assistant to Head of Department
Imogen Smith (imogen.smith-2@manchester.ac.uk)

Operations Administrators
Clare Haywood (clare.haywood@manchester.ac.uk)
Bobbie-Ann Jones (bobbie-ann.jones@manchester.ac.uk)

Stuart Pirnie (stuart.pirnie@manchester.ac.uk)

Jade Kelly (jade.kelly@manchester.ac.uk)

Operations Administrative Assistant
Laurena Rika (laurena.rika@manchester.ac.uk)